O'Connor, Joseph


  Joseph O’Connor




He was born in Dublin. He is the author of eight novels: Cowboys and Indians (short-listed for the Whitbread Prize),   Desperadoes, The Salesman, Inishowen, Star of the Sea, Redemption Falls, Ghost Light  and The Thrill of it All, as well as two collections of  short stories, True Believers and Where Have You Been?, and a number of bestselling works of non-fiction. He has also written radio diaries, film scrips and stage-plays including the multiple award-winning Red Roses and Petrol and an acclaimed adaptation of Daphne du Maurier’s novel My Cousin Rachel.


Giles Foden

Giles Foden




He was born in 1967 and spent his youth in Africa. Between 1990 and 2006 he worked as a journalist on the Times Literary Supplement and the Guardian. In 1998 he published The Last King of Scotland, which won the Whitbread First Novel Award and was later made into a feature film. The author of three other novels and also a work of narrative non-fiction, he was appointed Professor of Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia in 2007. He lives in Norfolk.


Irish novelist Donal Ryan

Donal Ryan




Tipperary born Donal Ryan’s The Spinning Heart is a first novel that has not only stunned critics, and launched the new Doubleday Ireland imprint in a unique collaboration with The Lilliput Press, but won Sunday Independent Best Irish Newcomer of the Year at the Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards 2012. In incredibly exciting news, The Spinning Heart has also been longlisted for the 2013 Man Booker Prize.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s